Sk540 Tail Drops In Flight

Discussion in 'Skookum' started by Ozzieheli1, Jun 5, 2014.

By Ozzieheli1 on Jun 5, 2014 at 3:54 PM
  1. Ozzieheli1

    Ozzieheli1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    86
    Hi Guys
    anyone know of a cure for this problem
    cg checked e.g. lift by head and checked both directions
    hover test e.g. hillier decay set at 200 test hover low wind
    using specy sats
    always seems to need a touch of forward elevator to keep tail up in flight

    this thing is going to end up as a paper weight
    as same problem on 450- 550 heli reset and reprogramed many times with same problem

    Thanks Bill
     

Comments

Discussion in 'Skookum' started by Ozzieheli1, Jun 5, 2014.

    1. The Dude

      The Dude Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 4, 2014
      Messages:
      1,070
      Likes Received:
      650
      I know this might sound like a stupid thing to say, but it almost seems like whatever method your using to level your swash is not good eunf.. It's hard to diagnose unless it's on the bench, Sound more like a mechanical setup issue to me. Could be gyro related..
       
    2. Ozzieheli1

      Ozzieheli1 Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      124
      Likes Received:
      86
      wish that to be the case ,tripod swash level used on all helis. even tried add one turn on elevator to counter act .
      Thing is same helis with Ikon's installed basic wizard setup fly fine .
       
    3. The Dude

      The Dude Well-Known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 4, 2014
      Messages:
      1,070
      Likes Received:
      650
      Bummer, just a thought, never used a Sk540 ..
       
    4. Ozzieheli1

      Ozzieheli1 Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      124
      Likes Received:
      86
      no a problem Dude
      tried several H freaks suggestions ; to no avail : just can't work this sucker out. seams ok in all other aspects (basic beginner flying lol)
      just hope the upcoming update may cure it .if not another Ikon May be ordered
       
    5. BeLoWseaLeVeL

      BeLoWseaLeVeL Member

      Joined:
      Mar 17, 2014
      Messages:
      91
      Likes Received:
      98
      I had the same problem with a ttgt5 ended up being the flybarless unit put a vbar on it ,problem solved
       
    6. Stephen

      Stephen Member

      Joined:
      May 6, 2014
      Messages:
      104
      Likes Received:
      71
      Does the Heli stay in place in a hover or do you need forward cyclic to hold it in place?
       
    7. Ozzieheli1

      Ozzieheli1 Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      124
      Likes Received:
      86
      requires a little forward elevator from take off .Very slow dropping of tail
       
    8. Stephen

      Stephen Member

      Joined:
      May 6, 2014
      Messages:
      104
      Likes Received:
      71
      Ok to fix this adjust the subtrim (in the software) of the elevator a little forward till you get a solid hover. Yes the swash may not end up level but this will fix your problem.
       
    9. Stephen

      Stephen Member

      Joined:
      May 6, 2014
      Messages:
      104
      Likes Received:
      71
      Did you get this problem sorted out?
       
    10. beenflying

      beenflying Member

      Joined:
      May 23, 2014
      Messages:
      85
      Likes Received:
      29
      Sounds a lot like the 3GX backwards drift. I don't have a 540 either, but a common cure for drifting, is to redo your failsafe. If it's different to stick neutral the heli can initialize to the failsafe and then see a different setting on connection to the Tx.
       
    11. Ozzieheli1

      Ozzieheli1 Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      124
      Likes Received:
      86
      will hopefully get a chance during the week
       
    12. Ozzieheli1

      Ozzieheli1 Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      124
      Likes Received:
      86
      turn out to be radio related . setup new model in dx 8 only to find 5 points of trim by default on every axis

      pity I crash the heli today trying to fly in to much wind for my ability lol.....
       
    13. smakmeharder

      smakmeharder Administrator

      Joined:
      Mar 3, 2014
      Messages:
      4,809
      Likes Received:
      3,093
      No way.... is that in the default setup of the transmitter? I had lots of issues with the dx8 but nothing to do with trim.
       
    14. Ozzieheli1

      Ozzieheli1 Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      124
      Likes Received:
      86
      yep tried a test setup and checked today 5 points also checked other models 2 out of 5 had same ..don't ever remember using trim on any ..

      might try another test setup tomorrow to confirm
       
    15. ArgyPak

      ArgyPak Active Member

      Joined:
      May 19, 2014
      Messages:
      125
      Likes Received:
      67
      Update to the latest firmware. It's fixed a number of issues


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
       
    16. Ozzieheli1

      Ozzieheli1 Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      124
      Likes Received:
      86
      that may have helped also .after update done a hard reset and complete setup with model reset in radio many changes at once to actually know exactly what cured the problem . flew well till I pushed my luck in winds up here (for my ability)
       

Share This Page

test

    About Us

    Just like you, Heligods staff are regular everyday fliers. Join our forum and participate in what will become the worlds greatest rc helicopter forum..

    Credits:

    A big thank you to the following people who helped us put together this site:

    Pope Francis

    Deli Lama

    George Bush

    Gene Simmons (aka Crash)