Question? What Gyro?

Discussion in 'The Chat Room' started by joffa13, Jan 5, 2015.

By joffa13 on Jan 5, 2015 at 2:19 PM
  1. joffa13

joffa13 Member

I am pretty new to rc helicopters, about 8 months in. I can hold a hover and do figure 8s. I have a trex 550 and align 450. On the 550 i have a 3gx, just wondering what gyro should i buy next. I just want something that works well. Have some tail hold issues with the 3gx....

Any thoughts?

Comments

Discussion in 'The Chat Room' started by joffa13, Jan 5, 2015.

1. Manyc

Manyc Well-Known Member

Now that's a loaded question... basically people like different fbls based on their flying style and tuning knowledge of a unit...

If your part of a club see what they fly and go with... people argue this all the time.. but from both personal experience and other pilots I fly with here are some what I would call good units..

Spartan
      Msh brain / Ikon
      Vbar
      Cgy750

With tail holding issues it could be mechanical..

Check the tail is buttery smooth.. also depending on the version of trex you may need larger tail blades and or higher head speed...

• Agree Agree x 3
      • Like Like x 2
      • List
    2. Geena

Geena Well-Known Member

I have experience with beastx,Vbar, Skookum and Bavarian Demon. They are all fantastic units, and so are the ones that Many mentioned. In my opinion, the "best" one is the the one that best fits your own needs. Some of them, like the Ikon and Bavarian Demon 3SX, have auto level or a rescue feature that can be set up to self right the helicopter at the flip of a switch if you lose control. Which can be handy when you are learning to fly. Most of the FBL controllers also require a computer of a programming box for setup and tuning, and some can be very difficult to set up. Specially if you don`t have much experience with them. Whereas the beastx is very easy to set up, and can be setup with or without a computer.